In which I read fiction

Let the Right One In: A Novel
John Ajvide Lindqvist

I came to read Let The Right One In
at the recommendation of a friend whose opinion I hold in high regard. 
I am going to admit right here that in high school the two of us read
vampire books.  Then we quit reading vampire books around the same
time for about the same reasons.  But that is perhaps another post. 

Let The Right One In is set in the Stockholm suburbs in 1981. I
kept thinking, "This seems anachronistic," and then immediately
thereafter thinking, "Oh, yeah.  It's 1981!"  Every time they talked
about the new Kiss album, or described the apartments.   I finally got
temporally oriented, but I never got a real sense of Sweden.  I'm
comparing this to the sense of Iceland that I got very strongly from
Last Rituals, which actually suffered from a flatter plot.  Maybe the point is that Sweden is does not leave an impression on you.  The characters, however, were more textural and detailed.

Anyway… it's the coming of age story of a likable-enough adolescent
boy-doofus complete with bullies and elaborate revenge fantasies. There
is a manhunt for a mysterious serial killer, a smattering of dead-end kids, and a
cadre of hapless neighborhood alcoholics.  It sounds like the feel good
hit of the season, doesn't it?  But for once the vampire
isn't some sensitive guy with dreamy eyes!  In all, John Ajvide Lindqvist
does a good job of maintaining my interest for the long haul and I was
rewarded with, if not a twist, then a flourish at the end.

So, it wasn't the greatest piece of literature in the world, but it was
meaty, creepy, supernatural mystery, and– best of all– it was
different.

So now let's all listen to Morrissey.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LBeeeze
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 19:36:54

    Hiiiiii !!!!

    Hope you had wonderful holidays….Happy New Year !!

    Reply

  2. Black
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 10:51:21

    Have you seen the movie?

    I am going to admit right here that in high school the two of us read
    vampire books.

    Have you read I Am Legend? Arguably, the best vampire book.

    Reply

  3. Sixbucksamonkey
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 10:55:11

    Have not had a chance to see LTROI, but plan to.  I have you seen it?I love Richard Matheson.  I had read the “I Am Legend” a couple of times, and seen “Omega Man” several times BEFORE I realized that they were the same story.  Sometimes I’m not too bright…

    Reply

  4. Black
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 17:25:27

    Have not had a chance to see LTROI, but plan to. I have you seen it?

    Yeah, I saw Let the Right One In a while back. I haven’t read the book, though.I didn’t like Omega Man. I preferred The Last Man on Earth. Vincent Price is the shit. What makes I Am Legend even better is that without it, we wouldn’t have gotten Night of the Living Dead.Have you read A Stir of Echoes? I’ve been wanting to read it, but never got around to buying it.

    Reply

  5. Zombie Birdhouse
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 12:40:47

    [this is good] I actually read this again and on 2nd reading I am less enthusiastic about this book than I with the first read. Perhaps the refreshingly different nature of the vampire overwhelmed me at first and made me overly effluent. Still a worthwhile read. I liked how there were obvious negative things about being around a vampire/animated corpse that have been neglected by too many writers interested in making the species a perfect mating machine, a walking embodiment of wet dream and secret high school crushes. That everyone in the book was exceptionally flawed appealed to me as well and that perhaps the most redeaming character was a corpse with a non-stop erection even if they were beyond self-motivation…or were they?

    Reply

  6. Sixbucksamonkey
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 14:28:50

    GASP… What were ye doin readin me blargh? 

    In other news, were you there when I realized that the guy from “Omega Man” had the same name as the guy in Last Man?  Heh.

    Reply

Leave a comment