Donkey Wednesday: Eyore Loses a Tail

This week we are going to celebrate possibly the world’s most famous– and certainly the world’s most depressed– donkey, Eyore.

eyore lost his tailIn one of my favorite stories of all time, Eyore loses his tail.  WARNING: plot spoilers

As the book opens Eyore is feeling down.  Pooh notices that Eyore’s tail is missing.  After a little checking, Eyore agrees that, yes, his tail appears to be missing and remarks that, “That accounts for a great deal.”

Pooh, being the great friend that he is, goes out looking for the tail and, by accident, finds it at Owl’s house.  Owl found the tail in a bush and took it home to use as a bell pull.  Pooh retrieves the tail and returns it to Eyore.  They get Christopher Robin to nail it back on.

As Pooh sings a little self-congratulatory song Eyore is practically happy.  The End.

eyore has his tail back

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trishc1812
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 22:10:43

    I felt the need to comment as my VOX sekret identitee was I-Luv-Eeyore.
    Poor Eeyore feels blessed just to be noticed by somebody as do I. I hope the rest of your Wednesday is wonderful.

    Reply

  2. rossruns
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 00:05:08

    [this is good]

    Reply

  3. lauowolf
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 04:56:53

    When Sair was an infant, a toddler, and a young child, we frequently read Pooh stories as go-to-bed reading.
    I read one copy virtually into rags.
    (Taped it together and have it yet.)
    To this day reading the stories aloud lulls me to sleep in about three pages.
    Lovely, lovely stuff.

    Reply

  4. thegrumblebunny
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 19:10:19

    I miss being able to embed bookreaders.

    I like your idea of jpg images of the books.

    Reply

  5. homebody
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 15:57:05

    I love Eyore and this story. Thank you. (This suddenly reminds me of that children’s birthday party game, about which the origins I am now wondering, and if A.A. Milne played it as a child.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

